Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews

We know that sometimes taking the first step is the hardest. Finding the right providers to entrust your mental health can be difficult. But we want you to know that at Serenity Mental Health Centers, you're more than just a patient, and you can trust we'll give you the attention, respect, and care you seek. Whether you're looking for help for yourself or a loved one, we encourage you to browse the reviews of our past and present patients to get to know our team and what we're about at Serenity.

5.0 Review from N.J. Source: Google Feb 16 2024

"I have never felt better since being treated by Brenda. She is a competent, hard working clinician who has patiently worked with me to find the right balance with my meds. I’ve also had a great experience with the whole staff at Serenity."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google Feb 07 2024

"Brenda has been so helpful and caring with my daughter and mental health issues. I’m so thankful for her expertise and the help she gives."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Feb 02 2024

"For the first time since I lost my favorite doctor to cancer, I have hope in the medical system. She actually listened and didn’t make me feel rushed or dismissed. It feels like she really cares for my wellbeing, wanted to know everything she could to help my conditions, and that’s rare to find. I’m so glad I found her! Brenda Galvez is the absolute best!"

5.0 Review from A.J. Source: Google Jan 11 2024

"Brenda Sanchez has helped me and my twin sister tremendously. She listens, then finds solutions. I struggle with depression, anxiety, and OCD. Since seeing her, I am now on a medication (which she made sure we were comfortable with), and this has changed my life. I can do normal human things that I couldn’t do before. Can’t be more thankful for Brenda and the team at Serenity for helping me."

5.0 Review from T.N. Source: Google Jan 11 2024

"Everyone there is pleasant to interact with. Brenda Sanchez is an amazing provider. As an introvert, I find talking to new people difficult, and I felt extremely comfortable talking to her."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Dec 28 2023

"Dr Brenda Galvez has been amazing while having been under her care. She truly listens to me. And takes her time and doesn’t just shove me through the line. I’d recommend her any and every time."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Nov 30 2023

"I am ecstatic that I was able to meet with Dr. Brenda. Such a sweet and understanding person. I truly feel like my concerns were addressed and I believe I am in great hands. I’m so sorry, the gal that greeted me at the reception desk, such a sweetheart and professional. The atmosphere is very pleasant, I feel at peace walking in there. I highly recommend if you’re not here already 😁"

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Nov 24 2023

"This place rocks! The support staff are very friendly and helpful. Everyone had a smile. My NP is passionate about helping me, friendly and actually listens to me, takes my ideas about my care into consideration and integrates them onto our plan. Highly recommended."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Nov 12 2023

"My experience here has always been nothing but positive. Jennifer Madu NP has been truly an angel. Felt safe and understood to share with her how I’ve been feeling and I look forward to continuing my care with such wonderful staff."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Nov 06 2023

"Excellent experience. From the initial phone interview, filling out the intake paperwork, and the easy process of email reminders, the tech driven process at S.M.H.C turned what is usually a very sterile and boring procedure into a very comprehensive and informative one every step of the way. They even have an app! My clinician was understanding and provided me with a safe space to voice my concerns and was extremely helpful in structuring a treatment plan. I was reluctant to seek treatment and, as a result, went untreated for many years. Serenity Mental Health Centers, and specifically Brenda Sanchez, gave me everything I needed to realize how foolish it was to have waited so long. If you're on the fence about seeking Mental health services, or shopping for a good provider to switch to, let this be your sign."

5.0 Review from K.J. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"Brenda is AMAZING! Her presence was very soft and welcoming and that made it very easy to talk to her. She listened to all of my concerns and validated me and explained everything in detail that was easy to understand. She knew exactly what to do for both me and my husband and I can say that it’s been over 18 years that I have felt this good about life and conquering all of my personal obstacles! Love the clinic and love Brenda!"

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"Brenda Galvez is a caring and generous person. She always is so invested on how you are doing and how she can help. I recommend anyone that is needing help with medication for depression or anxiety to go through serenity."

5.0 Review from C.O. Source: Google Sep 13 2023

"Dr. Brenda is so down to earth! I always feel genuinely cared about. The staff is the most friendly and always listens to you as well"

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Aug 13 2023

"I felt like Brenda was very knowledgeable and really listened to me, I’ll definitely be back!"

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google Aug 13 2023

"Dr. Brenda Galvez has been an amazing therapist! I am so pleased with her care. Thank you!"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Jul 13 2023

"I had an amazing experience at serenity, this was my first time going to find options for my anxiety, and NP Sanchez made me feel welcomed, heard, and validated. She presented me with options and we ended up finding one I was comfortable with. Going to get help isn’t easy but the employees at serenity helped put me at ease. I am very grateful to NP Sanchez for all of her help!"

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Jul 13 2023

"I love this clinic! Everyone always greets you with a smile, super friendly! Brenda is such a comprehensive and understanding person you can tell she loves her job and to help others, thanks to her and the medicine she prescribed to me I can now do more of my daily errands and enjoy the world!"

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Jun 13 2023

"First, word to the wise: go in to make your appointments. Don't call, because the building's phone system is dodgy. Not Serenity's fault, but it does take hours because every other company in that building is on the same system, I think. HOWEVER! It is 100% worth it to get treatment here. I love seeing Brenda. I always feel better after our appointments, and she actually listens to me about how whether I think a treatment option is working for me or not. A total lifesaver during this insane shortage, helping me find an alternative that works so I can stay consistent with my treatment. The staff are all sweet and helpful, as well, and fun to chat with. I definitely recommend this place."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Jun 13 2023

"I love Brenda. First visit she was very down to Earth, made me feel safe and welcomed - also truly helped diagnose and treat my symptoms. She’s amazing and I am excited to continue sessions with her."

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Jun 13 2023

"I am so fortunate to have found James O’Hara NP at Serenity and I must say that my experience has been just amazing. James understands the complexities that are involved in helping to provide optimal mental health, such an important skill! The recommendations have been well thought out, evidence-based and fully tailored to my individual needs, that last one is the hard part I believe. James genuinely cares about my well-being and is committed to helping me improve my quality of life and that’s exactly what the result has been! Thank you so much for this!"

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google May 13 2023

"I went to Serenity Mental Health Center in Lakewood last week unsure of what to expect. Some of the Google reviews gave me cause for concern, while others shared experiences of much needed relief provided by the staff here. I was hesitant but willing to give Serenity Mental Health a chance and I am thankful I did. Everything from my first phone call to the completion of my visit went smoothly. I was impressed not only by the level of care but compassion demonstrated by the entire staff. Working with Daniel Plastino, NP was better than I could have expected or hoped. Daniel is kind, empathetic, and knowledgable. I felt heard throughout the entire process and appreciated that he listened to my concerns while carefully evaluating my health and best approach for treatment. Nothing was pushed on me and I felt that it was a collaborative process; which is rare in healthcare these days. I left feeling confident in my care plan and Daniel's ability to help me reach my goals. I highly recommend Daniel Plastino, NP and Serenity Mental Health Center to anyone looking for support in their mental health journey. If you are on the fence like I was, give them a try and let them earn your trust. The peace of mind and level of care you can walk away with is invaluable."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Apr 13 2023

"Michael Kuron is my NP and he’s great. Compassionate and takes the time to explain everything. The other staff is great as well and they make the environment feel very relaxed."

5.0 Review from C.P. Source: Google Apr 13 2023

"Great place! Doctors are nice and facility is spotless. Would recommend. Stuart is a great NP and truly cares about his patients"

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Apr 13 2023

"Brenda Galvez Is the BEST person first of all. The word Gratitude came to mind after my very first visit. Not only has she taken great care of my health, but also she is lovely to speak with. It’s rare to find a doctor that combines such personal touches and care for a patient as a person with outstanding quality of medical care. I highly recommend becoming her patient! I barely waited to be helped when I checked in. The staff and Brenda Galvez were all very friendly and helpful. Brenda really took her time to explain my conditions with me as well as my treatment options. I had a great visit and the doctor’s demeanor has really put me at ease so I highly recommend this clinic."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Apr 13 2023

"As my first psychiatry experience I went in somewhat nervous, not knowing what to expect. Brenda and all the staff at Serenity eased that right away with their friendliness and kindness. I felt very comfortable, heard, respected, and supported. Great work being done here to help everyone live their best lives!"

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google Apr 13 2023

"I just started seeing Paulene (NP) and wish I had found her sooner! Before Paulene, I spent two years trying to get to the bottom of what was going on with me (with a different provider) and tried numerous medications with hardly any results, but after just one visit with Paulene I felt validated and heard for the first time. She took the time to really listen to what I had to say and we came up with a treatment plan that has already produced a positive difference in my life. I am so grateful to have met her and absolutely recommend her! Oh and all of the employees are so kind and patient - definitely recommend this center!"

5.0 Review from T.V. Source: Google Apr 13 2023

"My experience at Serenity Mental Health Center was a good experience. Brenda Sanchez is Amazing and really helped me understand my symptoms and gave me hope that I can work through my anxiety and depression. She took her time with me and really engaged in conversation making feel that she genuinely cared for me as a person not just a number in line. Also the staff was very kind and made me feel very comfortable on my very first visit. I honestly would recommend Serenity Mental Health Center to anyone suffering from Anxiety and Depression. They really helped me understand my symptoms and have started me on medication management. Next I will be referred to therapist with in my network. So it is a process that for me is truly needed. Thank you Brenda and all the staff. I now have hope that I did not have before. Best wishes, Toni Vasqiez"

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Mar 13 2023

"Serenity is awesome. They are always so kind and understanding. They are willing to work with you on payments and offer payment plans. The staff is always friendly and caring. Brenda Galvez is also awesome. She gives you so many options for treatment and lets you be apart of the decision making process for medications and treatment. I’ve been going here since about September, but even though it hasn’t been a super long time, I’m so happy with the care and service I’ve received this far."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Feb 13 2023

"Nicole dressler is a fantastic Np. Highly recommend her for mental health services"

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Feb 13 2023

"Working with Dr.Brenda for the past 6 months or so has been so informative and has made this new journey easier. I feel like she is genuinely looking out for my best interest and is straight forward and clear, which I greatly appreciate. She takes the time to really listen and takes it into consideration when recommending a treatment plan."

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google Feb 13 2023

"I love Brenda. She tends to my needs and listens to me with no judgment. The staff are great and accommodating as well. I live far but I still make my way all the way here to see them."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Feb 13 2023

"I have absolutely loved working with Serenity. I notice big differences in the way I feel and how I view things. Serenity is such a positive environment and everyone there wants for nothing more than to help you feel like you are the most important person. I feel safe and secure there. Brenda Galvez has been critical in me getting to where I am today. To have her really listen to me is something that I hadn't experienced in a provider. She has been such a blessing. I would highly recommend Serenity to anyone."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Feb 13 2023

"The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I have been seeing Brenda for a few months now and she has completely changed my life. I feel like a functional human and have already recommended her to a close friend who also loves her and has been so helpful."

5.0 Review from P.F. Source: Google Jan 20 2023

"A safe environment to be open and listened to. NP Tommie Butler is great!"

5.0 Review from K. Source: Google Jan 13 2023

"I’ve seen more MH care providers over the last couple of decades then I’d like to confess, however, it gives me perspective that compels me to shout out sincere, heartfelt, gratitude, to James O’Hara, NP, and Serenity Mental Health. They are world-class, top shelf, first rate, A++, super-great folks, who really know their stuff and provide care, like nobody’s business. Really care."

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google Jan 13 2023

"I have been to many doctors, but I must say this office, including all the staff and doctors and especially Mr. James O’Hara NP have really been there when I really needed it most. Thank you serenity 🙏"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Jan 13 2023

"Everyone was very nice, friendly and helpful. My Psychiatric NP Christine Foster went above and beyond to make sure I got my medication which was difficult due to needing records from my previous doctor which is out of state. She checked in with me after hours and on the weekend to keeping me updated. Yesterday I was able to obtain my meds and very much appreciate everyone’s assistance."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Dec 13 2022

"This was my first visit at this dr’s office. I had a great visit from the moment I arrived with the office staff and seeing Brenda Galvez. I always get so nervous going to any dr but Dr Galvez was great! She was very calming, took her time with me, I didn’t feel rushed at all. I felt like she truly cared! She fully explained different options with medication, including side effects I might expect. I made another appointment for 2 weeks to go over how I’m doing with the new medication. Thank you so much for helping me, it’s greatly appreciated!"

5.0 Review from N.H. Source: Google Dec 13 2022

"My NP is a genuine and very empathetic clinician. She is very detail oriented and creates a safe space for her clients. Happy to have found her and focus on my mental health journey together!"

5.0 Review from T.D. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"NP Dressler is amazing. She is always on time for her appointments, which we can all appreciate. She never hesitates to meet the psychotherapy needs of her patients. I highly recommend NP Dressler."

5.0 Review from T.W. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"I absolutely love serenity, I work at a PCP office and we refer our patient here. They care about there patients and can get you in quickly! When I met the NP Nicole she listened and cared about what I was saying."

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"Usually the doctors appointments I have for adhd/anxiety take about 5-10 minutes with the doctors just asking if I want time release or instant release, and then the appointment is over. On Monday August 15th I found out that the Dr. at my previous clinic had left, and I couldn’t get booked for 6 weeks, and I needed a refill for my medication that day. So in a panic mode I called all over the place and couldn’t get in anywhere. Eventually I found a 3rd party website that showed me serenity and I booked the appointment. Immediately afterwards I got a follow up call from serenity. The lady who called me said that the 3rd party doesn’t actually link up with their schedule and she wanted to get me in the official schedule. So she got all of my info over the phone and was able to get me a same day appointment with Stuart Porter, NP. Him and I talked about the issues I have with adhd and anxiety for about 40 minutes. He asked a bunch of questions, and gave me time to think about my answers. He was very caring, and curious. And most importantly I could tell that he really wanted to help me, which meant a lot to me. I’ll definitely be coming back to this place, for all of my mental health needs & concerns."

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"I can’t express enough how grateful I am to Serenity, all the staff and most importantly Brenda Sanchez. I struggled for a long time trying to get established with a new doctor after mine retired. I finally was referred to Serenity and they got me in super quick and got me back on track! Everyone is kind and friendly and I feel very comfortable. Can’t thank everyone enough!"

5.0 Review from C.P. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"A safe environment to be open and listened to. NP Tommie Butler is great!"

5.0 Review from N.J. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"Serenity is, hands down, the best mental health treatment facility I have ever visited. When I called to schedule an appointment, they asked me detailed questions to ensure that they could provide me with the treatment I needed. When I met with my provider, Brenda, she took great care to understand my concerns and needs. I felt truly validated, understood, and hopeful for the first time in a long time. Brenda displayed a refreshing balance of professionalism, friendliness, and a personable demeanor. The front end staff have also been very kind and helpful. I highly recommend Serenity if you are thinking about getting mental health treatment."

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"I have nothing but amazing things to say about Serenity! Scheduling appts is easy, the staff is very kind & helpful, they follow through quickly on prescriptions, & they’re easy to reach for assistance/questions. I previously saw Dr. Fray who was wonderful and now I’m seeing Shelly Abadi, NP who is also incredible. They always makes me feel so validated and understood! Thank you Serenity."

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"I was a little late to my first appointment, as i was lost trying to find the right floor to go to, luckily when i walked outside i asked a very sweet young lady if she knew where Serenity was, lucky for me she worked for Serenity and walked with me to get there. From the moment i walked in i was politely greeted by the receptionist, she made me feel very welcomed. One of the medical assistants called me back to take my weight, blood pressure, and pulse, which i had never seen done before at this specific kind of practice which i thought was pretty awesome! The ladies in the back were very kind and passionate about their jobs and were happy to help me. When i seen NP Tommie, he was very kind listened to me and paid attention also he did not rush me. It was a great first visit with great first impressions! I am very excited to work with Serenity for my well being. Thank you to the staff!"

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"What an amazing practice. From walking in the door. To seeing Brenda Sanchez. They understood my problem and had immediate solutions for help. Also willing to try other things for me."

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"I knew that Dr. Brenda Galvez was going to be my go-to within the FIRST visit! She’s an amazing listener, and suggests great options that are low-risk to your mental health. A psychiatrist that doesn’t quickly assume diagnosis or control the narrative is a MUST within today’s society. I highly recommend her!!"

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"There is a stigma about reaching out for help, but Brenda Sanchez, NP is welcoming and made sure I was comfortable and took my process into consideration when making decisions about my treatment plan."

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"I’ve only been here once so far, but I was extremely impressed. The office is beautiful and the front desk staff are great. I’ve never been to a mental health facility where I felt so valued and seen. My first visit with the psychiatric NP was scheduled for an entire hour! Mah was so great. She listened, validated my feelings and experiences, and even gave me a mini therapy session (which is extremely rare for psychiatrists). I feel very confident that the team at Serenity will take good care of me in the future."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"Really nice staff! And Brenda is quite impressive and open minded."

5.0 Review from L.T. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"Absolutely love coming here for care. My NP Pauline Jean Baptiste is always on top with my care and really listens to what I tell her when it comes to my care."

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"Seriously the best experience I have ever had. Hands down the best! Brenda Galdez is definitely amazing!"

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"I absolutely loved Brenda! I haven’t had much experience with going and talking about my mental health and she made me feel so secure and comforted. She listened super well and seemed genuinely interested in helping me. 10/10 experience would definitely recommend to anyone out there seeking help."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"Joe NP showed empathy and concern, didn’t rush through the appointment, and thought through the appropriate course of treatment. 5 stars would recommend"

5.0 Review from L.H. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"This facility is so wonderful! They speak to me with compassion and I appreciate it so much. NP Nicole Dressler is sweet and understanding; I wish every provider was this efficient and caring."

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"After less than awesome experience with another healthcare provider, I was referred over to Serenity by my girlfriend. From the moment I walked in I was treated with the care and respect that I was looking for. Everyone that I interacted with had the most amazing attitude from start to finish. When I was able to speak with my provider Bree, I so happy to be given the kind of treatment that I had been looking for. I’m so glad that I found Serenity and would recommend them to anyone concerned about their mental health. Thank you to the staff and especially to NP Bree for giving me the care that I needed. I’m looking forward to starting my mental health journey with such a committed and caring partner like Serenity!"

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Nov 13 2022

"I was able to get an appointment quickly with options when calling Serenity. I saw Paulene Jean-Baptiste, NP. I tend to be a little more critical when seeing any type of provider as I have been in the medical field for 22 years in Direct Patient Care. Paulene was a blessing and I was comfortable. What I appreciated most is she heard what I was saying and did not try and push any unnecessary medications on me, but truly addressed what may be an underlying root of a lot of the things going on in my life."

Request Appointment

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.